top of page

Suggestions, Policies, Calendar, Rates    

Practice

Lessons are not enough.  Schedule time to practice at home!

Ideal:             5 days

Very Good:   4 days

Good:            3 days (not including lesson time!)

Length of practice 15 minutes to an hour depending on level and goals.

Helpful hints: keeping noises and distractions away from students in your home will help the student focus.  Also, remember to look for good lighting and having your piano tuned at least once a year.

The Music Machine, Metronome

Cancellations

If I cancel, I will make that time up.

 

If you cancel, makeups are not guaranteed, especially for in-your-home students which are scheduled not just by time but by the "route" for the day.  If given at least 24 hours notice, I will try to offer extra time or alternatives as they come available.  In-your-home students might be able to come to my home or take an online lesson through Skype. There are no refunds for missed lessons.

If you take extended vacations/discontinue: without tuition payments, you will need to reenroll when you returnLesson times are held for students only with tuition payments.

 

For families with two or more students taking lessons, if one is ill or unavailable, the other students (or parent) can take the entire lesson time.  

 

Sick:  Please no vomiting, fevers, excessive coughing or sneezing.  Mild cough and cold are ok, but let me know so we can both mask up to limit exposure

 

Bad weather: skype or reschedule are possibilities.

 

Please give 2 weeks notice if you should, sadly, decide to discontinue lessons.

 

2023-24 Studio Calendar 

Saturday, Aug 19, LESSONS RESUME/BEGIN for 2023-24 studio calendar year.

Labor Day Weekend.  NO Lessons scheduled Sat. Sept. 2 through Mon. Sept. 4.

Lessons resume Tuesday, Sept. 5.

Fall Student Performance.  Sat. Nov. 4.  3-5 pm.  Chesterfield Location TBA.

Thanksgiving Break.  Tues.  Nov. 21 through Sun. Nov. 26.  Mon. lessons do meet!

Lessons resume Mon. Nov. 27.

Winter Break.  Fri. Dec. 22 through Wed. Jan. 3.   Lessons do meet Dec 18-21.

Lessons resume Thurs. Jan. 4, 2024.

Sonatina Festival.  Sun. Feb. 25.  CMS Webster University.  SLAMTA event. Fee required. 

(For the serious Classical Musician.)

Spring Break. Sun. March 17 through Sun. March 24.

Lessons resume Mon. March 25.

Spring Student Performance.  Sun. May 5.  Maryland Heights Location TBA.  1-3 pm.

Pre-Summer Break. Fri. May 24 through Thurs. May 30.

Lessons resume Fri. May 31.

Thurs. July 4, No Lessons. 

Sat Aug 10, 2024.  Last lessons of 2023-24 calendar year.

Tentative start date for 2024-25 calendar year TBD during the week of Aug.19-24.

2024-25 Studio Calendar 

Teaching schedule and rates based on 45 weeks of once-a-week lessons.

Monday, Aug. 19, 2024.  Lessons Resume/Begin for 2024-25 calendar year.

LABOR DAY.  Monday, Sept 2.  NO LESSONS.

Fall Student Performance.   Sat. Oct. 5. 3-5 pm.  Maryland Heights Location TBA.  Friends/Families welcome.

Thanksgiving Break.  Tues. Nov. 26 -Sun. Nov. 30. NO Lessons.  MONDAY LESSONS do meet Mon. Nov. 25!

Winter Break. Sat. Dec. 21 - Thurs. Jan. 2.  NO Lessons.

Friday, Jan. 3.  LESSONS RESUME.

Sonatina Festival.   Tentative date: Sun. Feb. 23.  CMS Webster University.  SLAMTA event. Fee required. 

(For the serious Classical Musician.)

Spring Break. Sat. March 15 through Sun. March 23.  NO LESSONS.

Monday, March 24. LESSONS RESUME.

Spring Student Performance.  Sun. April 27.  Maryland Heights Location TBA.  1-3 pm.

MEMORIAL DAY. Mon. May 26.  NO LESSONS.

Pre-Summer Break.  Fri. May 30 - Thurs. June 5.  NO LESSONS.

Friday, June 6.  LESSONS RESUME.

Friday, JULY 4.  NO LESSONS.

Mon. July 7. LESSONS RESUME

MON. AUG. 4 Last Lesson of 2024-25 Calendar Year!

Tentative Start date of 2025-26 TBD during the week of Aug 15-20.

Rates

For Aug 19 , 2024 to Aug 14, 2025.

Based on 45 weeks of once- a-week lessons, divided into even-billing monthly or quarterly payments.

In your home lessons.

45 minute minimum for one student*     $188.50  monthly or  $565 quarterly.

60 minute minimum for two students      $253  monthly or $759 quarterly.

30 minute for third student                        $126.50  monthly or $379 quarterly.

(Based on $33.75 per 1/2 hour)

*For students 5 and under, a 45 minute lesson can be overwhelming.  I can offer a 35 minute lesson for 1 to 2 quarters at $147 monthly.

Usually this involves a 30 minute lesson (with various learning activities), then a quick review with a parent/guardian.

This plan may also be an option for other students if I can schedule your lesson less than 10 minutes before or after a nearby student, waiving the usual 45 minute minimum for in your home lessons.

In my home lessons.

30 minute lesson for one student     $100 monthly or $300 quarterly

45 minute lesson for one student     $150 monthly or $450 quarterly

(Based on $26.75 per 1/2 hour) 

In my home students:  I do have 2 cats, which are kept away from students during lessons.

 

Substantial discounts are available for in my home students who can come on weekday mornings during the school year.  Call/email for a quote. (Excellent opportunity for retirees, home schoolers, second shifters!)

 

No Enrollment Fees!  Just be respectful of my time.

.

No refunds on lessons.  Use the monthly plan if you are uncertain of your future.

Books and entrance fees for SLAMTA and MMTA events are not included in the quoted rates.

No extra charge for performances opportunities through the studio.

 

Tuition Payment

Monthly: Payment Due the week of the 15th of each month.  Please be prompt!  I prefer to spend time teaching rather than rechecking accounts!

Quarterly:  due Aug. 19, Nov. 15, 2023, Feb. 15 ,2023 , May 15, 2024. 

Thanks for being prompt in your payment!  Checks, auto pay, cash, Zelle transfers (check with me on the email used).

Returned checks: it happens now and then, but unfortunately, someone has to cover it!  Students/parents are responsible for return check fees.

bottom of page